t f v r

Sweet Wins again at Valvoline Raceway

1-11-16 australia win

Sweet wins back-to-back nights once again

Brad Sweet made it back-to-back Peter Murphy Appreciation Night wins at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway last night with a stirring win in the 35 lap A-Main to add to his 2014/2015 success.

“I’m so happy to win this race,” grinned the Californian, “Pete’s a real good friend of mine and this is his home town. It doesn’t get any better than winning someone’s race in their hometown, especially someone like Pete who is so loved down here. It’s an honour to win this race again.”

Sweet’s eventual 5.09-second winning margin over Kerry Madsen in second place was not a true measure of the entertainment value of the race that many regarded as the best of the season so far.

Madsen brought the #29 Keneric Racing KPC home in second after leading early and made no secret of why the race played it out like it did.

“It was my mistake. I messed around with the lapped traffic too much. I should have been more aggressive earlier and then I might have got a break. Brad did what I needed to do.”

James McFadden filled the last spot on the podium with third place in the Westralian Diamond Drillers #25 and certainly had his moments in the non-stop race.

“I just couldn’t get through the lapped cars, some of those guys seem to want to race you. I needed to get running better through them, you can’t ease off at all at this level.”

The battles for second place through to at least tenth were breathtaking.

The position swapping between Madsen, Tatnell, Max Dumesny, Sam Walsh, Ian Madsen, Kyle Hirst and Jackson Delamont in particular was worth the price of admission alone.

James Thompson was fourth with a fine drive in the end with Brooke Tatnell right on his hammer and Max Dumesny following the same path.

“I’ve never had to drive my butt off so hard to pass one car,” quipped Dumesny in the pit area after the main event.

Several drivers had to dig deep to come back from the brink including Ian Madsen who had power steering pump issues in his heat that forced a DNF, Sam Walsh who changed a motor after his heat win when an oil leak was detected, Jamie Veal who missed the direct transfer to the A-Main and had to come from the B-Main, Alex Orr (who timed in fastest for his group in Qualifying but missed the direct transfer) and Carson Macedo (driving the Sean Dyson KPC) who cut a right rear tyre down in his heat and had to just sneak into the A-Main through the B-Main with a last twenty metre pass on Mitchell Dumesny.

Sam Walsh was electric in the Pole Shootout advancing five positions in the Rocket #92 Maxim but faded later in the A-Main to an eventual tenth place.

Teams take a quick break now and regroup for the biggest race in NSW Sprintcar Racing with the 2015/2016 Scott Darley Challenge this Friday January 15 and Saturday, January 16.

The Wingless Sprint main event was won by veteran Dubbo hard charger Mark Blyton who took the lead from Jason Bates (who got a flat tyre eventually) and was never headed to win from Sean Mayo in second place and Geoff Piekar in third.

Raymond Terrace racer Shane Carlson completed a hat trick of main event wins this season to put the Carline Automotive Falcon into victory lane over Dungog racer Brendan Wakeman in second and Andrew Fuller rounding out the top three.

2016 Peter Murphy Appreciation Race A-Main results

1. Brad Sweet
2. Kerry Madsen
3. James McFadden
4. James Thompson
5. Brooke Tatnell
6. Max Dumesny
7. Jamie Veal
8. Robbie Farr
9. Ian Madsen
10. Sam Walsh
11. Kraig Kinser
12. Warren Ferguson
13. Kyle Hirst
14. Matt Dumesny
15. Ben Aktinson
16. Jackson Delamont
17. Carson Macedo
18. Grant Anderson
19. Alex Orr
20. Grant Tunks
21. Danny Reidy
22. Matt Smith
23. Toby Bellbowen
24. Jack Lee